Even the best laid plans…

So, last night I got all dressed up to go to a New Years Eve party downtown where a friend’s band was playing.  I went out to my car only to discover that I had a flat tire.  It was pretty late by that point, and I wasn’t able to get a hold of anyone to come pick me up for the party, so I ended up spending the evening sitting on the couch, in my fancy outfit and hair, eating chocolate and watching a marathon of The Thin Man movies on TCM. (not a bad evening, but just not what I had planned.)

I was finally able to get my hair in to some form of victory rolls, thanks to this tutorial:

I don’t think her method is completely authentic, but it gives you the look and is really easy to do!  Here is what the final product looked like, even though I am the only one who saw it last night

And, I have to say after watching a lot of Thin Man last night, I adore Myrna Loy!  She always looked so beautiful and sophisticated, but she was also really funny.  I was reading a bio of her recently and was interested to learn that early in her career, she was typically cast as an “exotic”, made to look like she was of Asian decent.  The Thin Man movies helped break her out of that stereotype and into comedic roles.

photo courtesy avanzaza.com

Leave a comment

Filed under fashion, Inspiring Icons, Links, Make-up and hair, Movies, Outfit post, Video

Leave a Reply

